Poets logo

Running From Reality

Slipping off the edge

By Stephen Chan WahPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Picture taken of Paramin Look Out

My eyes are closed

I keep them shut

For fear that everything will vanish

The moment I break their seal

It is sometimes entirely easy for me to forget how blessed the earth I touch can be

How much solace I can be granted by taking a breath of fresh air

How electric my blood becomes at the vibrations hovering millimeters from my skin

A cool breeze passes its palms over my back and runs its fingers through my hair

The smell of ocean salt carries itself across the wind and hugs me in my hammock

I sway gently and intentionally

I open my eyes

Often times, I feel lost in the crowd

So I look for familiar faces in the clouds

Cumulonimbus smiles back at me and I suddenly feel a little more found

From where I am perched, I can see the curve of the horizon

I close my eyes again and this time, I listen

I listen carefully to the sounds around me

The loud drone of the cicadas rent through the forest

The birds sing as they relish in their freedom

To traverse the sky must be a dream

The leaves brush hands in an eternal handshake

Not to be disturbed by Man, or Time.

I wish I could be like them

They just are

Not worried about their own existence

No need to fret about things that will inevitably crumble and turn to dust

Only then to return to form

In the cycle of the Universe

As I ponder the state of my being

The Sun begins its descent to the other side of the world

The sky paints itself in soft oranges and pinks

Is this peace?

Could I stay here forever without it becoming like everything else?

No...Moments like this were not meant to last

Their impact dies if they stick around too long

So I will bask in the few remaining moments of sunlight

I will cherish the time I have with it now

Tomorrow is not promised

But maybe I will find my way back here someday

And experience peace once more

Feel the breeze on my shoulder and know I am never truly alone in the Universe

inspirationalnature poetryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Stephen Chan Wah

Trinidadian Writer, currently residing in Toronto. The art of writing means many things to me. It is currently changing and I am always finding myself revisiting my passion for writing in new ways. Thanks for any time spent reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.