Poets logo

The Tall Grass

Lost In It

By Stephen Chan WahPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Lately, all I have seen is cigarette smoke around me

I have been lost in this haze for a long time

Even before I ever took my first sip of tobacco

Before the poison ever graced my lips

I have seen this smoke ever since I acknowledged myself

From the time I knew myself, or the beginning of myself

I have seen this illusory dance in front of my eyes

I have perceived reality through a lens not fit for navigating it

I have at many times, made wrong turns down dirt paths

Deviating off course into the unknown tall razor grass

My arms and legs are shredded but I feel it and because of the pain

I know I am still here

I am still alive

Often times, that is what life feels like to me

A series of paths through a maze of grass taller than I could ever reach

So I am forced to push forward

Regardless of the fear, the anxiety or the pain

I will reach my destination as surely as I won't if I choose to stop

My body would crumble and fade into the earth, only for its energy to be reborn again in the universe's never ending cycle

I just want to reach somewhere peaceful, where I am contented

I must believe that I can reach this place

Otherwise I am lost all over again

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Stephen Chan Wah

Trinidadian Writer, currently residing in Toronto. The art of writing means many things to me. It is currently changing and I am always finding myself revisiting my passion for writing in new ways. Thanks for any time spent reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.