Poets logo

I Am Stuck

A Cycle

By Stephen Chan WahPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Every day is the same

The difference, only apparent when looking to Yesterday

I turn to the past for relief

For it is behind me,

In the rear view mirror of my life

That the truth often reveals itself.

Frustrated, at the fact that I can only ever move forward

I can never hold the gems the past has to offer in my hands

The diamonds, hidden in suffrage

The pearls, strung around ignorant necks

And every day...remains the same

I wake up

I ascend upwards, higher to the clouds

Upwards higher, into the stars

Upwards higher, into black nothingness

Stagnation eats away at me and I let it

I have come to realize

That I romanticize my regression

I sit in awe, at how much I have not grown

Not even realizing, I am have achieved growth by the end of the sentence.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Stephen Chan Wah

Trinidadian Writer, currently residing in Toronto. The art of writing means many things to me. It is currently changing and I am always finding myself revisiting my passion for writing in new ways. Thanks for any time spent reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.