Poets logo

Step Into the Light

Grow a Little

By Stephen Chan WahPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The day begins like any other day

Yet, I am still captivated by the way the sun hugs the land gently in the mornings.

It's blanket, made up of many different hues.

It envelops almost everything and I am no exception.

Try as I might, to hide in the shade

To find comfort in the dark

Happen upon solace and peace in the places the light cannot reach

I try to stay there, because it is all too often easier to do so

But, this soul of mine is relentless in it's pursuit of evolution

It so badly wants to grow, it wants me to step into the light

Like the tree basking in the sun, growing tall and strong and majestic

My soul would like to join in the process of photosynthesis

Convert that sunlight to positive energy

Take a step further into the light

And finally, on this day like any other

Begin to grow again.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Stephen Chan Wah

Trinidadian Writer, currently residing in Toronto. The art of writing means many things to me. It is currently changing and I am always finding myself revisiting my passion for writing in new ways. Thanks for any time spent reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.