Poets logo

Runaway down the tracks

He stole my heart from the first time we met

By Shay MorrowPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Love at first sight would be for me at fourteen.

The cutest bad boy with the dreamiest eyes I had ever seen.

Dark brown brooding eyes,

We were going to change the world.

Long, blond hair and jeans loose at the seams,

Dreamy and real and locked eyes with me that were not mean.

A smile that was a grin that would stretch for a mile,

I was sold in an instant and fell like a shot dove.

Attraction and kissing and caressing my hair,

Instantly in love without a care.

He said he loved me to the end of the earth,

He pulled me tight and protected me from the night.

A young girl’s emotions only saw a tunnel with light.

Kissed me, hugged me with his strong arms,

My love for him was a brooding dark storm.

He looked deep in my eyes,

Our bodies together felt like a cloud in the sky.

He was a bad boy and his emotion dipped into my soul,

My love for him was instant and nobody’s fool.

But it was my fool.

Then one night he stole my parent’s car,

Took it for a joy ride and returned it with scars.

The cops thought it was me,

My young heart was broken, and no one could see.

He was arrested and then released,

He came to my window and so professed.

He begged me to leave with him and love him and run forever,

My love blinded me, and I would follow him wherever.

I climbed out the window thinking I do,

We walked for miles down the railroad tracks,

Looking for water and shelter and I just thought that he knew.

We held each other tight to make it through the night.

No money, no direction, no phone, no light.

Sleeping next to the train tracks,

And avoiding the bright.

The bright police lights tracked us down,

The cop car buzzed as it passed us and then turned around.

I pledged my love to him,

And was hopelessly bound,

To a juvenile fantasy that was never found.

I had to go home, and he went back to jail,

My parents didn’t understand, and my heart was in fail.

I cried and begged and longed for his love,

Only to learn it was a lie and prayed to the angels above.

My first encounter with love at first sight,

You would think would be full of bright colors and light,

But it was a sad song I care not to write.

Naïve and young I longed for the love of a young man,

Who did not care; he threw my heart out and kicked it like a tin can.

I will not forget it, nor do I care to repeat it again.

Love at first sight was not my friend.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Shay Morrow

Just sitting on the pier with my dog casting a line out with some live bait, sipping a beer and puffing a smoke, like everyone else.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.