Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

RSM

- just a small breakdown -

By TheSpinstressPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
RSM
Photo by Simran Sood on Unsplash

I have been learning to be middle-class

but there have been setbacks such as: I have 'mental health'

which is like stress but you're not really allowed

to talk about it; spiders come crawling out of the walls

but I can't very well say to my sensible married

4x4 colleagues that these are because I am

in love with a man I really shouldn't be

and that I am thus because I have carved my world

and my personality into real and unreal for so long

that I have forgotten

which one is which and I am worried I might

mix them up at some crucial moment such as I might

kiss him or I might tell you all

fuck it I quit I am off to ruin my life again

I don't know if this is OCD or RSM (Real Serious Madness)

so I pretend not to see the spiders until

someone else notices one in which case of course I do

take her calmly outside apologising for the lack of eviction notice

but you know what humans are like, don't you? Better than

you, she says, stretching her elegant legs and leaving. So you see

I have been learning but there have been setbacks such as

I tried faking it and then I made it but the space in my head

usually occupied by FEAR PAIN LOATHING couldn't get filled up

with all your smiles and encouragement so here I am acting again,

and some days very glad

that the windows of this tall tall building

don't open.

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    How do you do that blend of funny and painful? I think poems like these are more moving than the ones that talk about the intensity because they show more about someone who's just this side of the line, coping, making the best of it, putting on a brave face. Hope you're okay.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Wow. This is incredible. So many stand out lines, but the ending really got me. Excellent work.

  • Being in love with a man that we're not supposed to be, that was very relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    Your rendering of a claustrophobic feeling, both physical and psychological, is masterful.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Oh my. I think I like the space inside your head. I love you saying that you don't buy new clothes. I only buy from the sales rack, and it better be marked way down. Please don't force the window open. Then I could not read the new works coming from inside your head.

TheSpinstressWritten by TheSpinstress

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.