Poets logo

Rotten Apples

And Murder

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
6
Rotten Apples
Photo by Fabrice Villard on Unsplash

awaiting the ravens

as snowflakes flitter around

a quiet, safe haven

a secret, kept underground

*

adorned me with presents

promised his heart to me

and then, he turned rotten

an apple spoiled, felled, from its tree

*

where once was pure passion

brutality took its place

he looked like a madman

that evil look on his face

*

he vowed to replace me

replay all his sins

he left his guarantee

all over my skin

*

my face was so battered

he designed me a mask

he said, "rest assured"

nobody would ask

*

he said, he was the king

and this was his castle

once he made my heart sing

then he turned into an asshole

*

he had it all planned out

he knew exactly how it'd be

he planted a sprout

at my grave, neath the tree

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Too many rotten apples out there. Well done!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    👏👏👏👏

  • He needs to die. Slowly. Painfully. Lived your poem!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🖤

  • There is only one soul that survives such things. It is not his.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.