Poets logo

Romanticizing Romance

a poem

By CreePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Romanticizing Romance
Photo by Biel Morro on Unsplash

Reservations for four

Plus the fifth wheel, me

Perfume still fresh

Strappy heels

Slip dress,

Black silk

I’m shining, shimmering

In your maple syrup eyes

Cotton candy cheeks

Like the blushing skies

Above our heads

Yellow globe string lights

In straight lines,

We all wait to get in

On a secret

Crush

The ice and say something

Anything, just to get you

To look at me for a second

Time is nothing

When you look my way

Romanticizing romance,

This is the part

I hate

Not knowing if it’s

The idea of me

Or the real me

You perceive

With cotton candy cheeks

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Cree

Montana native, living in the PNW.

Just writing what I know.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.