Poets logo

rock bottom

a poem

By Poppy Published 11 days ago 1 min read
15
Image Created on Midjourney

You had antiseptic hands and medicinal words and I placed my trust in them, told you it was heavier than the pieces of my heart.

Now walking outside feels like going to war, breathing tastes like suffocation and staying alive is the hardest thing I have ever had to do.

We once painted each other the yellow of sunflowers, when the world was so dark we didn’t know how to turn to the sun.

Now I am feeling like I’m six feet under, wishing I was… and your every day seems to be a fever dream of laughter and lullabies.

I am dying on a self-made battlefield, remembering the days I manoeuvred you away from a similar sight, shredding my brain trying to figure out how you could leave me here; wearing blood and broken armour and resignation.

What I am trying to say is, I think your old self would’ve been proud of me. And I am trying to focus on that, instead of the fact that your new self doesn’t think of me at all.

❀❀❀❀❀

Author's Note: I'm doing much better now, just channeling past emotions into poetry. Thanks for reading.

sad poetry
15

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Rene Peters3 days ago

    I'm glad you're doing better now. That was such a vivid piece.

  • David Muñoz5 days ago

    Love this. Really vivid imagery and emotion. Well done!

  • Kenny Penn5 days ago

    Powerful yet sad. Wonderful poetry, you always write so beautifully, no matter the subject. Glad you’re doing better, Poppy

  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    Raw and relatable...glad you are better now. Great poem!

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    Such a clever well worded first stanza and a jarring punch at the close with such raw resounding emotion in the middle!

  • Hold on to the thought ‘I think your old self would’ve been proud of me. And I am trying to focus on that’✅

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    And thanks for the authors note, because this is glisteningly raw.

  • Glad to know you're doing better Poppy. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Hayley Matto11 days ago

    I'm not crying, you are... oh my goodness Poppy!! *Snaps and claps* The whole thing was one big gut punch, the last stanza is what took me out. So sorry you have experienced the remembrance of a lovers past self, and live in the pain of knowing that version of them no longer exists and isn 't dwelling on past thoughts of you... It's a pain like none other!

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Gut-wrenching and heartbreaking!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.