Poets logo

Rivers to the Sea

We Float, Though Swimming is Safer

By Aintsh*tPoetPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Rivers to the sea

Oh the reality

Who do you become when there are none to influence your decisions?

The great nothingness

It was meant to surround the celestial bodies

So what happens when it seeps into yours?

Can you create faster than the void can dissipate;

Faster than the moles can dig their black holes,

And all the soil from this land is displaced?

Outlive the bloodlust

Lock your jaw so you don’t eat your heart raw

Can you tell me what it means to be at war

Over something worth fighting for?

I used to wonder if it would be me who wears the pants in a relationship

Now love is overpriced and I can’t afford a boat

While some dread having to sail alone, I’m just lucky to stay afloat

They say don’t hold your breath

But if I didn’t, I would drown

With no one around

I’m likely to be devoured before I ever am found

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Aintsh*tPoet

Experience, feel, understand. Let’s see what My love for you all can turn into. May we be blessed by the universe within. If you can’t be light, be the guide in the dark.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.