Poets logo

Rings and Regrets

A poem about lost love

By Abigail SulfridgePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The memories of old

The memories of new

The memories you thought you had forgotten

He remains in your mind

He remains in your soul

But you're tied down now

With a man who wears you down

His smile stayed with you

Even after he left you

But what of the days you had

Where his hand was on your

Aching hearts pound

Aching hearts cry

All I can say about him is

He will never ever try

Again to rekindle our love

Even though I have a love

And even though he loves me

My heart still longs for the other

One to set me free

From the land that may as well be sea

The rocking and rolling of it all

Cements how I want you at all

Goodbye good old days

Where your hand would always lay

Where it probably shouldn't

In that class so long ago

Goodbye Goodbye

And hello rings on fingers

While I love my ring

I still love this man

What to do

Goodbye peace

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Sulfridge

I am from Boise, Idaho. I am a Medtech and am going to college to be a teacher. Writing and acting have always been passions of mine and I'm glad I get to pursue them here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.