Poets logo

Ride or Die

G-

By Katie DornPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

“Ride or Die”

I thought.

I lied.

The daily guilt consumes me inside.

She’s been gone. Taken

And I drive by

The house she’s in.

The “friend” and husband

Who took her away

Lied and Betrayed

My trust. My weakness.

My reach for support.

Why my partner of 13 years?

My pal? My cohort?

My companion who’s seen me

Through all 3 pregnancies.

Two kids here today

And the one that got away

Whose rubs on my leg

Helped me through one more day

When all the world's color had since turned to gray.

Who’s been to 5 states.

In cars. And on planes.

Who stayed with my sister

When my ex had me threatened

Who we sprung from a shelter

After a rape and relationship ended

Who scared my Mom when I first snuck her in

Who my Dad got to know, though he’s now in heaven

Why her? Why G? Why my ride or die?

Why take my G-unit and leave me to cry?

“Property” the cops say. So sue for small claims.

But who puts a price on their family name?

Gypsy Dorn. My beloved.

The crotchety Grandma.

Who’s been that way since we first held

Hands and paw.

With so many animals awaiting adoption

Why take mine, then tell me to proceed with caution

Every day I still miss

Your corner presence

As I try to accomplish

Work’s tasks on my list

Then I beat myself up

Though you’d look with compassion

If you were watching me type

In this soap opera fashion

Trying to get just one thing done

with passion

The weight is so heavy

I can’t let you go

Yet I beat myself up

Feel ’m moving too slow

There’s so much to say

Yet no words could say it

Actions to take

Yet Anxiety snakes it

It’s trauma resurfaced

And you’re up to bat

G-Money. My Gypsy. Best Coworker.

My cat.

inspirational

About the Creator

Katie Dorn

I believe in creating the version of yourself you desire.

My writing is designed to make you think.

Single Mom of 2 and Student of Life.

I get paid for my ideas and naturally different ways of thinking. *

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katie DornWritten by Katie Dorn

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.