Poets logo

Resting

For those who understand...

By Ellis HughesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Resting

They begin slowly at first, creeping and crawling,

Like the breath of a runner, they quicken with brawling

Plunging into a void, the air evading my lungs;

Sucked up inside, each shiver licking like tongues

I burst into the open, despairing for breath,

My arms flap around me, my legs feel like Death

I put myself here, I yearned for this mess!

To escape life’s “gift,” its heartache, its stress…

The cold closes in, the light finally fading fast,

Choking burning ice, are these moments my last?

What should one think of when one is about to fade?

Of sadness, of happiness, or of the life I haven’t made?

The darkness of the sky cracks for I am beyond saviour;

He is looking upon me, judging my behaviour

Leisurely I sink, and I think of my kin;

I think of His scrutiny of this act, of this sin

Vision escapes my eyes with panic on calm,

It’s a “deadly place,” yet so beautiful; no alarm

The currents ease me down, my heart my graceful weight

Abyss finally finds me, my peace, my fate

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ellis Hughes

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old woman looking to become a poet and share my thoughts and feelings with the world. Please look through my work and let me know what you think!

Instagram: @elz_zia

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Ellz.Bellz.Hughes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.