Poets logo

Resolutions

A New Year is on the Way!

By Judey Kalchik Published 2 years ago 1 min read
25
Resolutions
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Will I go without a sweet?

Can I deny myself that treat?

Can I resist that pat of butter?

Without emitting a whine or mutter?

*

Will I take 10,000 steps?

Make them positive, not just schlepps?

Will I stand up once an hour?

See exercise as sweet not sour?

*

How about I try, instead,

To start at the top and flex my head?

To exercise my creativity

Instead of a sweatier activity?

*

Can I write a post a week

And find the confidence I seek?

Or should it be a post a day?

Could I manage not to stray?

*

It's not as if I've joined a gym!

I won't have lots of laps to swim!

Just need to figure out the words!

(Cause sweating? Yuck! It's for the birds!)

*

Instead I'll make a Vocal resolution,

Yes! That will be the best solution!

And it's one that I can keep

These days I'm writing in my sleep!

*

I'll use pencil, paper, and computer.

(Surely that will make me cuter?)

My mind and fingers exercise.

(Think that will reduce my thighs?)

*

Sigh. I suppose I'll need to do it all.

Both write and exercise, not bawl

About it. I must write and also exercise.

(Bet I can type as I eat fries!)

social commentary
25

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • River Joy4 months ago

    I enjoyed this a lot. I'm glad you shared this! It's especially timely now.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.