Poets logo

Resolution song

New Year's Resolutions always make me cynical

By Laura ToddPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I will start eating right tomorrow 

I'm going to exercise again

 I will be kind and true 

I'll be impressing you 

with all my willpower and Zen

I'll be a fully different person

 through the strength of my resolve 

I'll be the Flawless one 

Now that this year is gone

No more problems left to solve 

Tomorrow is another year 

It don't mean nothing 

Look at the future from here

It looks the same 

All my hopes arise from fears

I hope it's better than 

I'll have the rarest brand of virtue 

the sort that lasts more than a week

I'm going to quit caffeine 

always keep my house clean

I'll be the role model I seek

Tomorrow is another day 

And that's worth something 

Look at the present today 

In a new way 

All my hopes I'm gonna say 

That feels better 

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.