Poets logo

Reprisal

Fear makes me a coward

By Anna TorresPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
Reprisal
Photo by Tamara Gore on Unsplash

He's feral like a wild animal gone rabid. He's agile like a predator that's taken to flight. He's savage like a lit fuse about to implode. He's primal like a retina that's lost its precious sight. A heathen that's always on reconnoiter. I can't escape for that would destroy the established order. You lead this domestic dance with every step on my hand. A fascist general with a strategy and a plan. I'm on borrowed time that's been given little by little. Grateful for crumbs from a table that's too afraid to meddle. Weakness shown to your master has gone down sharp. I thought I'd be spared but you never miss your mark. You dictate with your fists and your fury. Another day of wrath and another night of misery. A death sentence has been singing in the wind. A headstone in the making for the grave I'm dancing in. A disturbance is a substitute for this heated vendetta. You created this feud all for an elaborate operetta. Acts of sedition are quickly put out by confusion and reason. The rebellion in me has erupted into a pointless treason. Digging my way out like a zombie out of the frozen ground. Compromising my womb like a coffin being lowered without a sound. I've repented from devils and demons and remain unredeemed. I've atoned from blissful incoherence and still give out my apologies. I've mourned the audacity and the frightened nerves I haven't collected yet. The grief balances on a tight rope but marches to a deafening drum set. In the darkness we slumber but I never descend much. Blinding ambition keeps me alive but I am misfortune untouched. Mating in the moonlight with claws and fangs exposed. We don't live with regrets but have plenty of scars to unload. They know fear but I know entrapment and a razor wire fence. Bound to cowardice dressed in a suit that lives to offend. These are the rules that I obey with my body and my tongue. Primal are the instincts and urges he has but sadly, I have none

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    So savage! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.