Poets logo

Renegades

Struggling Sunsets

By Leah DeweyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Renegades
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Sunsets

Lisa Frank

Palms in the beach wind

San Diego zoo

Rainbow Bright

Swing sets, swing with all my might

It's not always rainbows and butterflies

Hot dogs and sandcastles

Safety of my brother

Overwhelming fear of my mother

C. Parker

Sam

These are nostalgic, bittersweet memories of my childhood

Anthony

Purple Haze

Football games and nachos

Too much alcohol and weed

His Face

Quinn and me

Ventura streets, driving too fast

Depression greeting me

Suns bright

Blockbuster, Taco Bell and Telegraph Road

Something's different and distant in me

Real life: let's begin

That beautiful face is a haunting image of my nightmares

Stanford Prison Experiment

You can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave

Break my body

Poison my mind

Wipe away beach waves

Rainy back yard

Wild dogs of momentary joy

Hikes, runs in the play yard

Taste the sun

But if you're brave you're a renegade

Destorying Lisa Frank and sunsets

Marely Jane

The darkest parts of me

Saved by a field of lily flowers

Long line of pioneers

Rebels and mutineers

Go forth and have no fear: time to go back

Rainbow Bright and Lisa Frank

I'll leave now like a renegade

Cross the horizon to find her

Reignite the path

Writing, dreams and goals

Dear one, I'll find you

Say whatever you must, but your words cannot catch up to me now

Running wile and running free

It's my time to break the rules and start again

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Leah Dewey

Hello. Welcome to my page. I have been writing for over ten years & have been published in several different formats including magazine articles, poems & full length novels. I have a BA in English Literature & a Masters in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.