Poets logo

Remember to Pray Before Bed

A poem by ED 6/1/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Remember to Pray Before Bed
Photo by Reba Spike on Unsplash

If only you could see my dreams, the really bad ones

The nightmares I’ve faced and tried to escape

Lately, they’ve been more frequent and

More disturbing because my friend

Aly, has seen them too, when I

Died, abandoned lakeside

As my little sisters

Struggled, sadly

Madly, to grip

Reality.

Last night,

I tried to save

The cats from the house,

The neighbor's, where the door

At the back is always open just a crack

And the pungent smells and secrets told well

Come creeping out into the yard strewn with cans.

I couldn’t make it in time, the bomb nearly blew.

Unfortunately, I had lost both my shoes

Inside that dilapidated house and

I ran back to get them before

We all took off in the van

Before I could finish

College and

Graduate.

Even worse,

The things I see

While awake, like what’s

At stake as this country crumbles

Our leader smiles and stumbles across

The world’s stage while the summer of rage

Kicks off with a great start by tearing apart all

The families and broken bodies of the ones

Too small or shy to help themselves

The stores’ empty shelves say

“They’ll all be dead soon”

Because mothers look

To the moon for

Answers, but

Remember

To never

Pray.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham2 years ago

    Loved the words and the way you wrote the lines were also quite artistic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.