Poets logo

Drink Up, Eat Me Up

A humble view of reality written by ED 5/16/22 and 6/1/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Drink Up, Eat Me Up
Photo by No Revisions on Unsplash

Everyone in this cafe is in love with me.

Do you know how I know?

I can see it in the way they avoid staring.

They don’t want to be creepy or off-putting.

But that one man looked at me, dead on.

He didn’t smile.

He was too entranced by my natural, unbrushed hair.

That woman is envious.

She’s wondering how I stay in such great shape.

It’s genes, sweetie.

Though I do know the secret of staying so young.

It’s in my confidence, I promise you can’t attain it.

The cashier will remember me tonight,

After the hundreds of faces he’s seen today.

Maybe as he lays down to sleep,

I’ll be the one in his last thoughts,

And the first one in his dreams.

He’ll wake tomorrow to return to work,

And just beg God that I come back.

I am the only good thing that has happened to him today.

I guarantee it.

It’s because my voice is a little softer,

He had to lean in to listen because he was so intrigued

By the order of such a mysterious girl.

What does one eat to exude such a heavenly presence,

He asked himself.

The woman who stood behind me in line was admiring my clothes

Secretly hoping she looked half this good in sweatpants.

I know that in the humble moments when I carry my food

Back to my table that everyone takes that opportunity

To gaze longingly at my retreating form

And hope that I am the one who will change their lives.

As the babies stare, and wonder, and hope,

They look back to their own disgruntled mothers,

Who have yanked them by the arms

And scolded them so harshly for not keeping up,

That their little hearts unknowingly offer up prayers

To a God they have only heard of once

That I should take the place of those mothers.

Playful children see their souls mirrored

In my eyes as my gorgeous smile spreads

And lets them know they are seen and loved.

As I take my seat and pray before I eat,

Angels smile down and prod the saints to look, too.

And all in the cafe fall a little more in love

As warm smiles creep out of the corners of their mouths

And their thoughts are elevated to Heaven for the first time

In a long while.

Everything comes naturally to me.

It’s not such a burden to be the way I am.

I’m blessed by my own grace, as well.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • YonathanJ2 years ago

    Great storytelling, I was hooked from the very first sentence

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.