Poets logo

Relic Description: "The Modern Woman (c. 2022)"

I will exist to fill space / And I will be a space filled.

By CD TurnerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
(Photo Credit: Marc Murphy)

I have been fossilized,

Buried in the strata of collapsed society.

I have become stone,

Trapped in time,

Like a cage,

Like an insect caught in amber.

/

I am a fixture,

A vessel for life,

Yet I am but a holder,

A chalice for debauched pleasures,

An instrument to use at will.

/

Appraisers will find no silver,

No cracks inlaid with gold.

I will fetch no grandiose value,

Other than pounds of flesh

Stripped away,

Piece by piece,

Fiber by sinewy fiber.

/

I will exist to fill space,

And I will be a space filled.

All my spaces will be utilized,

At the quickest whim,

No question.

/

My mouth will hold the foulest of sin,

But will not hold words to speak.

My hands will do the most wretched things,

But will not touch my own skin.

My legs will be opened,

My body invaded,

My soul violated,

My womb flooded,

But none of it will be mine again.

/

I will sit upon my plinth,

As the viewers gather forth,

Reading the placard,

Learning my roles and duties,

But never my name.

/

Here sits a relic,

Of a bygone past,

"The Modern Woman".

I will be an example

Of what happens to those

Who challenged the ways of Man.

/

I can only hope

To be one day, shattered.

Ground me into sand

And sprinkle me in the sea,

Where I'll finally be free.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

CD Turner

I write stories and articles. Sometimes they're good.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.