Poets logo

Reflector.

There Is No Greater Teacher Then Unrelinquished Love.

By I. LazyrynPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Like
Reflector.
Photo by Inga Gezalian on Unsplash

I understood that there are zero coincidences.

We met that fateful morning.

I found myself staring at this tall, inquisitive being.

Her reflection stared back at me.

Blond, curly hair, and beautiful green eyes.

Her soul...broken, dark, pained.

She was me.

I was her.

I wanted to save her, to be her, to love her.

But she didn't reciprocate the desire.

The days turned into months.

Months became years.

I had never felt like this before.

This obsessive yearning for someone who didn't want me.

I spent mornings cutting ethereal cords.

Yet our soul's had a contract.

And day after day, the cords became reattached.

Every time I was ready to remove her from my life forever, she would reach out.

It became a constant battle.

To remain in my body.

To keep my soul intact.

She changed everything for me.

She was a little prude, intelligent and wise beyond her human years.

Yet she was wild, fun, and completely independent.

She was a walking contradiction.

An oxymoron.

She loved freedom.

I loved that she loved freedom.

I didn't understand why the universe would allow our paths to cross.

It was unfair.

Within her, I lost myself.

I tried to become everything she longed for.

Only in doing so, I realized that everything she ever longed for was everything I ever longed for.

The universe knew that she would be great to my soul's evolution.

The pain I would endure in the process was debilitating.

And it took every ounce of effort to focus on what I needed to do, to save myself.

And from her, I learned.

I learned to root myself in my beliefs.

I learned to create my empire.

I learned to stand in my power.

I learned to set boundaries.

I learned to be completely independent.

I learned to live without her.

She changed everything.

She saved me.

In never being there for me, in never wanting me, I let her go.

My hair darkened to an earthy brown and my eyes became hazel.

I was no longer her anymore.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

I. Lazyryn

Paradox, Oxymoron, Walking Contradiction...

My Sun and Mercury are in Gemini.

Obnoxiously Spiritual.

Obsessive Learner, Gymnast, Cross Fitter and Astrologist-wannabe.

Lifelong Writer-Fascinated with Invoking Emotion through Words.

Very Gay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.