Poets logo

Reflections

Can you see me?

By Danya WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The sky's sacred space.

I had a dream there were no mirrors. 

I was locked in a house and there were no mirrors on the walls, no mirrors on the doors, no people to see me.

I couldn’t see my reflection. I had no one to reflect me back to me.

How will I know who I am if I can’t see my own reflection?

I looked behind curtains and under linens and towels, but I couldn’t find any mirrors.

I looked out of the windows for my reflection in the sky, in the clouds, in others faces.

Nothing. 

I watched the sky’s sacred space for hours.

Nothing.

I figured out how to make my own mirror.

I poured water in a glass bowl.  Then, I could see my reflection.

I know who I am.  

I see. 

I see me.  

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Danya White

Storyteller. Everybody has a story to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.