Poets logo

Reflection

Water like cold glass.

By M. JohnsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo credit M. Johnson

I want to run out and scream. Let it all go, get out of my skin.

Help get me out of my head. I want a dream that wasn’t born with my eyes closed in bed.

Let me get lost. Loneliness looks like peace right now. I’m so alive it’s slowly killing me some how.

Water like cold glass. Just who is that girl, a face from the past. Just my reflection staring back. Falling into the deep I’m trying so hard to find me.

Don’t want to be in charge, I want to be free. I’m not the commander in chief.

My mind is somewhere else. The pressure crushing I’m overwhelmed.

Not forever just some time. I want to remember me, you know clear my mind.

Get me out of here. Got to get me out of here.

Water like cold glass. Just who is that girl, a face from the past. Just my reflection staring back. Falling into the deep I’m trying so hard to find me.

Feels like I’ve always been trying to get home and couldn’t. Wrong car, wrong plane, wrong people, wrong person.

Coming home to you is where I was always meant to go. No matter where we are you are my home.

I’ve forgotten my name, what I want and why I came.

I want all the love I’ve found I want to keep it around.

A rare commodity is love for myself. I journey alone ‘cause I’m no good at accepting help.

I don’t have the tools I was raised by loveless selfish fools.

I’ve never felt precious never been anyone’s treasure. For me words of sincerity are hard to measure.

Water like cold glass. Just who is that girl, a face from the past. Just my reflection staring back. Falling into the deep I'm trying so hard to find me.

I’d jump right in head first. Hoping to be drowned and born a bew birth.

A new seed loved by me. Grown the right way. Washing me new so I want to stay.

Felt alone for so long I just want to latch on. I don’t want to see red with white stars. I don’t want to be in that car.

Water like cold glass. Just who is that girl with a face from the past. Just my reflection staring back. Falling into the deep I'm trying so hard to find me.

Get those hands off me. The ones that made me feel unclean.

Was my forehead stamped with vulnerability? Could they all see it from the beginning.

I never wanted to amuse or be used. Why wasn’t anyone protecting me? Why should being a little girl ever feel so lonely?

Always screaming with no sounds. Didn’t matter no one was around.

They did the damage I’m left to repair. Lucky for me rough hands pulled me out of there.

Water like cold glass. Just who is that girl with a face from the past. Just my reflection staring back. Falling into the deep I'm trying so hard to find me.

Winter isn’t as cold as my memories. I have to hide them away they’re to hard to see.

The life I know now is full and filled. Sometimes I need to run away and face myself.

To remind me how hard I fought. To remember how it feels to be alone and lost.

Now when I’m alone with me, my reflection isn’t so hard to see. I am not who I was. Not even who I am. I’m a reflection more than anyone can comprehend.

I’ll raise a stronger daughter. Teach her to swim hard and never tread water. Say no stand up for when life hurts. Forget what they say and remember her worth.

Water like cold glass. Just who is that girl with a face from the past. Just my reflection staring back. Fell hard into the deep to find out what parts of me to keep. There’s still so much more of me to find. But I’ll find it all as the stars align.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

M. Johnson

There is no bad weather; only bad clothing 🏔

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.