Poets logo

Reflected by Light

By D M Alvarez

By D M AlvarezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Do you know? Can you grasp what my eye can see?

There are waves of color I breathe in and perceive.

I take them for granted on most days. I do.

They wait on the side, each one standing there, true.

Ten million or more, that's how many they think.

Who could have imagined them?

Mixed, yet distinct.

Chartreuse, vermilion, cyan, azure.

Such exotic names for ones so demure.

Some sound as though they were meant for a king,

Scarlet, Magenta,

Royal blue for the queen.

They nonetheless gleam in their delicate hues,

As Northern Lights give us spectacular views.

Did jewels or did colors first appear on the scene?

Amethyst, Emerald or Aquamarine.

They shine without airs, with no trace of conceit.

Yet remain dignified, by itself a great feat.

In this spectrum of light, I ask,

Where am I?

What shades do my actions exemplify?

What colors I choose could inspire a life.

Could bring harmony, peace to a place bearing strife.

Could my colors be seen from far and above?

Will my colors turn someone's hate into love?

If I am unique, it's for others to say.

To extol my own virtue is just not my way.

If I shine now and then, I'm reflecting a light.

My colors can only be seen when it's bright.

So, I'll posture myself in the light of the day.

Where my color may help you

along your way.

inspirational

About the Creator

D M Alvarez

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    D M AlvarezWritten by D M Alvarez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.