Poets logo

Red Treasure Box

Red

By VesselostatseaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Red Treasure Box
Photo by Trent Bradley on Unsplash

I own a red treasure box, Filled with tokens, trinkets and jewels. There I keep the footprints in the sand, the seashell you picked for me from the shore.

Melros beach, the sun setting a golden peach. Setting over the turquoise ripples. Two bodies sitting together, holding hands.

Sometimes my box holds necklaces laced in jade and opals. All natural tones for my sunkissed skin. The necklaces I wear when I think of you. To hold me close to someone who warms me. Fills my heart with fire and soul.

A bluebird sits on my mantle, for good luck. It is now tucked away with my jewel box. Where I keep all my token, trinkets and jewels.

I have a photo of you and I, holding a creature of salt. When you followed me up North. Towards the heat, and the desert.

One day, to my fear. There will only be my red jewelled box. Full of tokens, trinkets and jewels. But they are not only treasures. They are memories, of me. And you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vesselostatsea

@vesselostatsea

Insta @_anniehall__

Poetry, Adolescents, Life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.