Poets logo

Red Redux in E Minor

—-inverse

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
41
Red Redux in E Minor
Photo by Ilya lix on Unsplash

I am the red

Did you understand that

The Adam-red wind carries the deer’s stumble into a soaring flight

The red you spat out shifts and crumbles into the frantic, frozen air

I close my eyes to the unadulterated red, and I scream inside with a thunderous, nauseated pull,

Before it all breaks,

Oh my God, how achingly, chillingly beautiful, how much can this will power take

I always found that beauty wrapped in chains

Am I not the right shade to cover the plume of smoke rising, like Venus in her shell

Like a blotted out carcass sitting on the shelf

Not the symbolic deer of an objective truth of human nature, but a temporary place

I was a sidenote of design,

I made My own business of color

Gagging on the furtive monster that played an e-minor in melancholy

I paint myself in red, war paint, a redux

Streams of newly created red I am

heartbreak
41

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Dariusz 3 months ago

    Congratulations on top story :)

  • Rachel Robbins3 months ago

    So impressed by this.

  • Andrew Pretzel3 months ago

    It's clear why it has been chosen as the top story of the month. Truly quality content.

  • Antonella Rustica3 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Wow just simply great

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Carol Townend3 months ago

    Red is my anger colour. It also colours my love, and I love how descriptive your language in this piece is.

  • Andrew Zuk3 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story, 💖❤👍

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Intense. Wow. I like that it leads back on itself. Furthers itself. Not certain if that is that the best way to explain it but yeah.. it speaks of grit and power!!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Wow, that was a story read in both directions! Amazing work, Melissa!! Congratulations on a well-deserved top story :)

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Congratulations on top story.

  • Lightbringer 3 months ago

    Really nice

  • Gerald Holmes3 months ago

    This is beautifully done. Wonderfully said in both directions. Congrats on the Top Story and a great entry to the challenge.

  • Matthew Mccahey3 months ago

    Ooo congrats on the top story! Not on here much but trying to get back into vocal and writing. So glad to see your stuff as always Melissa!

  • Test3 months ago

    Stellar effort! Keep up the extraordinary work—congratulations!

  • APKROMs3 months ago

    nice story

  • masterplay973 months ago

    Intresting post

  • olymoolla3 months ago

    Wow nice story

  • LOVED YOUR TOP STORY. CONGRATULATIONS

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • J. Delaney-Howe3 months ago

    This is just excellent. I think this is the best one I have read yet.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Heartwrenching red!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    Wow. Brilliant poem! ❤️ Well deserved top story! Congrats.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.