Poets logo

Red Mist

Day 3-8 inclusive of Chloe Rose Violet's Writing Prompts for October

By Hannah MoorePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Red Mist
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

A scream escapes, vanishing into the night,

Like the white flash of a startled dove

Catching the moonlight before it fades into blackness.

A scream escapes and it is my lips that are parted,

My tongue laid flat against the floor of my mouth,

Danger-red and dried like salted meat.

A scream escapes and my ear hears from far away,

Through water, through fluid, pooled in the auricle

Where the blood poured down my face.

A scream escapes,

Swallowed by the dark,

Hobbled by terror,

Drowned in blood,

Unheard. Except by you.

Stay with me, I beg,

Stay, STAY, please don’t go.

Please don’t stay. If you can, get away.

The demons escaped, I thought we’d be safe

But they came for us both in the night.

The demons escaped, and I’m sorry, I am,

For the lapse, for the knife in my hand.

The demons escaped when the red mist descended

Now this handle towards me is turned.

The demons escaped and I want you to know,

Its your fault I let down my guard.

A scream escapes, you fought back, you hurt me,

And it’s my face that’s slick with fresh blood.

But it’s your heart not beating, it’s your throat that’s bleeding.

A scream escapes, and its mine.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • The Invisible Writer6 months ago

    Wow, that was gripping. "Like the white flash of a startled dove" a brilliant line

  • StoryholicFinds8 months ago

    love it! ❤️

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Dark fact or fiction!!! Left a bloody heart!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Jodi Nicholls9 months ago

    Wow! This is incredibly emotive. I really enjoyed the horror aspect. It 'took me there' and swept me up in its chaos.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Oh this was good, like your description of your tongue 😁

  • A. Lenae9 months ago

    What a twisty, haunting piece. I love the voice of the unreliable narrator, the feel of betrayal and danger that is interwoven with a delicate type of sadness. Like the teardrop is actually a weaponized shard of vein-cutting glass - that's what this is, and it's really excellent.

  • Omgggg I loved how dark this was! And you so effortlessly combined a few prompts together for this poem! Exciting work!

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Terrifying! Hannah, this is brilliant!

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Wow. Brutal intense terror with harmonic overtones of a panting survival. Beautiful/horrifying poetry. 😎

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Horrifyingly appropriate. Intense and chilling. Deranged! All of It equals success! Great poem for the season!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    That was intense imagery working to a crazy wind-up. I especially like what these lines did in the beginning: "My tongue laid flat against the floor of my mouth, Danger-red and dried like salted meat" Great word choice and unhinged psychology here, happy Halloween!

  • JBaz9 months ago

    Brutality mixed with beauty. Hard to do but you succeeded.

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Blimey. That was brutal. Great poem. Dark, dark, dark.

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    This was intense! 'Stay, STAY, please don’t go. Please don’t stay. If you can, get away.' - my favourite lines here. Great poem!

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.