Poets logo

Red Lace Dress

A Poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 7 months ago 1 min read
13
quote

Red is the color

Of my untamed spirit

Not the opposite of pink, but a part of it–

The heart beating within

*

Red was the color

Of my young flushed cheeks

The same hue for passion, and for shame

*

Red is the color

Of the words I speak

When my mouth can no longer contain the flames

And they taste like freedom

*

Red is the color

Of my monthly bleed:

A bright, vibrant crimson, like something alive

*

Red: the bracelets I wore

When they told me cover up my legs and body

So the boys would grow up to stare at it like something forbidden

(It was)

*

Red is the color

Of the dragon on my hip–

The reminder that I never have to say sorry

For the multitudes I contain

*

Red is the color

Of the scarlet letter

We all wear

Beneath our clothes

For as long as we stay hidden

*

Red is the color

Of the harvest moon

When I stay home, light candles, and put on

A red lace dress

Filthy
13

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    When I was in seminary, one of our professors explained to us that the only person more shunned than an unwed Jewish mother 2000 years ago would have been the child she bore, & that if the Messiah were to be born today she would be a poor Latina living in a third world country. Ever since then I have found it easier to find the Christ in women, including (if not especially so) among those who eschew Christianity for all its historic misogyny. ( Yes, my friend, I would count you among them.)

  • You know that I'm a hugeeeee fan of your poems! And you wrote about Red! Ahhhhh! I was sooooo excited! I loveeeeeeeeee Red! I loved this poem so much!

  • This was so good! Loved the message of it and it had such a great an easy flow to it.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    There's a lot of power in these words. Well done, Joelle! I agree with Kayleigh; that third stanza really stands out.

  • Kelsey Clarey7 months ago

    I love this! You captured so much with the focus on one colour.

  • Test7 months ago

    Your poem beautifully captures the multifaceted nature of red, using it as a metaphor for the complexities of human emotions and the societal expectations we navigate. It's a compelling and thought-provoking piece that encourages reflection on the various meanings and symbolism attached to a single color.

  • That third stanza ! I loved I so much I had to keep starting the poem over when I read it because my mind just lingered on the words… ❤️ This entire poem felt like such a charge for our pure feminine powerful energy 🙏🕊️🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.