Poets logo

Red

a memory

By Maya SandenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The houses between which is my house are red,

and we dance beside them, along the creek bed.

I tiptoe and leap and I twirl through the night,

for the sound of your voice can make everything right.

You cannot see me and I cannot see you,

but there’s grass ‘tween my toes, and the sky is dark blue

And “You’re all that I care for,” your hand says to mine,

“so we’ll stay here together, forever, just fine.”

But you faded away, and the nighttime did too.

The sky turned light grey and I fell far from you.

The richness of night is now simply a hole.

You’ve colored my heart, but ran off with my soul.

My world trudges onward, but something’s not there.

It’s been quite a while, I shouldn’t still care.

You were like a shooting star, filling the night.

It’s all dark ahead, to the left and the right

What you leave behind is what shows that you’re strong.

The tail of your comet is bright, and quite long

You light up whole worlds with the flame of your life,

but all you see coming is darkness and strife.

You shot through my life, and left with a flash.

Now the night’s black again; where was flame now is ash.

The houses between which is my house are red.

As I dance between them, you dance through my head.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.