Poets logo

Red

The Shade of You

By Poppy Published 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
41
Red
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Betrayal. Rage. Blood. Your dress.

The tinted glasses you placed over my eyes so I would only see your twisted perception of events.

The sticky liquid trickling from my ears when people warned me away.

A knife in the soft flesh of my gut. Fists clenched at my side. Your steady hands.

My vision as you stood there, nonchalant of your neglect and narcissism.

The shade of your deception as you threw accusations at me instead of handing me the apologies I deserved.

The ink of my pen as I write out our story in the colour of truth.

The line you crossed. The tie I cut.

The faded colour of the sky, reuniting with peach and lilac shades, as I turned away for good.

❀❀❀❀❀

The Prompt:

fact or fiction
41

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F7 months ago

    so damn good!

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    I have really enjoyed these colour poems Poppy! Each one I have read has had an inspiring theme <3

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Magnificent poetry. Brutal, yet empowering imagery.

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    Love description. Congratulations on your top story.

  • Amanda Starks7 months ago

    Oooh, oooh, YES! Poppy, this was excellent. The color red can be interpreted in many ways, but I LOVED the brutal ( and bloody ) approach. So many great lines here, and it felt like a complete story too.

  • Test7 months ago

    I loved the powerful cadence and imagery of this. Beautifully done 💙Anneliese

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I missed this one. Red is such an evocative color, it comes in such shades of emotions. Red for a Top Story.

  • Sugan Ya 7 months ago

    Powerful poem ...I loved it... Congratulations on your Top story...

  • Ashley Lima7 months ago

    This is absolutely stunning, Poppy. Well done, indeed. Congrats on Top Story

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    Oooooohhh- shivers! This is a gorgeous and powerful piece with incredible visuals. Brilliant job, Poppy!

  • I’m sorry I missed this when you published it! Another powerful poem. I want to echo all of the other comments ✨🕊️🤍 So glad this was recognised as a top story - so many of yours deserve that and this one most definitely!

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    I picked this prompt; you own it. 🌹

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    great work ❤️

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    I'm not sure how this sneaked by me, but what a deserving Top Story! This hits hard!

  • Excellent you started off with substantial Magic ✨ ♥️💯📝✌️I couldn't stop reading 📖 Nice Piece, Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎨🩸

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    wow. This is powerful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Test7 months ago

    Back with super congrats 🤍🤍🤍

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Stunning! I was going to do red funnily enough but diff approach! this is a different class! congrats on TS!

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    WOW! This was incredible, Poppy! Beautiful imagery and such an incredible tone! And what you did with 'red' is marvelous! Thank you so much for sharing :)

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    Wow, this poem was so tangible. I love what you did with the color red 🔥

  • This comment has been deleted

  • The color of warnings unheeded, taking over our hearts, minds & eyes until it is all we can think, feel or see, driving us ultimately away toward somewhat more calming hues.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Damn, girl, that last line. You have such a talent for ending poems that i will forever be jealous of. “The faded colour of the sky, reuniting with peach and lilac shades, as I turned away for good.” What an image. I love how it doesn’t completely revoke the red, but redeems it. Much like we can’t get rid of our worst traits, but try to integrate them so as not to suppress, and never to mistreat others. What a fantastic contrast, and a visceral, true poem. 👏👏👏

  • I was sooooo excited to see that you've written about Red! This was soooo powerful! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.