Poets logo

recovery

and the road that lead there

By Poppy Published 20 days ago 1 min read
Image Created on Midjourney

How many different ways can I describe this blood on the floor? How many different pictures can I paint of you with your back turned? How many solutions can I hold in my palms and how many times can I watch them slip through my fingers?

I once thought the answer ‘infinite’. No more. Ten times. Thirty. A hundred. But slowly, the urge to capture my pain is giving way and making room for the need to write about how much bravery it took to put myself back together. About how high the cliff around rock bottom was and how, eventually, I climbed it anyway.

Now I am measuring the cuts on my hands, noting the colour of my bruises and admiring them for what they are. Proof that I survived.

I once charted a map of the devastation you caused, now I am outlining a mountain range that looks suspiciously similar to my newfound heartbeat.

❀❀❀❀❀

For more poems like this, check out the ones below:

Free Verse

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶16 days ago

    Well deserved placing on the Leaderboard ✅.

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    Yes! I celebrate this!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)19 days ago

    Poppy... I love love love love this!!! Like the shift in perspective is everything to me!! As we walk through the journey with narrator on them starting to forgive themselves and learning to take back their power from the hurt they felt. They realized they'd rather be proud of how far thrive come instead putting the energy into whistle blowing the person that hurt them!! Such maturity and an elegant perspective!!

  • D.K. Shepard19 days ago

    Whew! That last stanza was positively stellar! A hopeful note after heartache

  • Dana Crandell19 days ago

    "Now I am measuring the cuts on my hands, noting the colour of my bruises and admiring them for what they are. Proof that I survived." Now, THAT is transformation! Wonderful poem, Poppy!

  • Christy Munson19 days ago

    Powerful writing, Poppy! 🤩 The struggle for the narrator is real, and so too is the strength, grit, and tenacity to overcome. And overcoming adversity is as difficult as it is rewarding. The journey itself eventually becomes beautiful.

  • So freaking good Poppy

  • Excellent poem with a hopeful conclusion. Like Dharrsheena, I really like the final sentence.

  • Poppy, you did it amazingly. Well done.

  • What a wonderfully optimistic poem so creatively written. What makes your poem so effective is that it is straightforward while using symbolism which adds an extra layer of depth to really drive the point home. Excellent work, Poppy!

  • Paul Stewart20 days ago

    ayayay beautifully written - hard and uncompromising in its honesty, but like Kayleigh said...it's like a story of strength and getting through it like the title and subtitle infer! :)

  • Belle20 days ago

    Beautiful, Poppy!!!

  • Ooooo, that last line was extremely powerful and my favourite! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • I love the message of strength and grit in this… it’s like you have draped it under a veil of darkness…but it’s so strong that it’s shining through… which reflects the subject of the poem exactly… 👌👌👌🌟

  • This could be devasting and i hope its not for real for you , but I know it is for many

Poppy  Written by Poppy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.