Poets logo

Recovered Identity

A poem — After the Parade

By A.M. HartePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Recovered Identity
Photo by Jamez Picard on Unsplash

Weeping on the front steps

I knew that she was gone.

My tears flowed freely

Shattering like glass

Fragments spewed across the lawn

*

I knew that I had loved her

Through the wisdom of my soul

She departed too suddenly

Her heart was still beating

But mine was no longer whole

*

I had so many chances

To share what I had felt

But I choked on my words

My lips buzzing and numb

Too late for her heart to melt

*

My voice had always been stifled

By my own internal dread

Quietly, I protected myself

From those monsters masked as friends

Truth resounded only in my head

*

Trials left their silent mark on me

I stayed quiet to please them all

My neglected needs, lost to decades

Exhausted by the effort

I listened, at last, to my inner call

*

I hammered against the bricks and stones

Long years, ‘til broken and battered

My inner light escaped the clouds

Broken free from shadows

I knew love was all that mattered

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte has dreamed of being a published author ever since she was a little girl. She lives on the Canadian prairies and writes poems and stories inspired by life's struggles, always with a hint of optimism.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.