Poets logo

Your Presence

Poem: Home

By A.M. HartePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Your Presence
Photo by Orange Chen on Unsplash

The breeze tickles my skin

As my feet take steps, one by one

I slow and turn my face towards the sky

Breathing deeply, I close my eyes for a moment

I blink up at the dazzling blue

As dusty pillows float above

I take in their shapes

Feel the wind playing with my hair

Like secrets whispered in my ears

From loved ones past, some I’ve never known

Their peace surrounds me

I am struck by the flow of time,

How deep and unfathomable it is

Shaping every memory, yet as elusive as a ghost

The scent of sweet grass in summer

Reminds me of childhood memories

With you there in front of me, smiling

I can always see the sunlight dazzling behind you now

Lightly obscuring your features lost to my memory

When a little bird sings to my right

I turn to see the slender branches swaying

I can almost hear you telling me

All about that bird and what it means

You are often around me

Taking my spirit to the safety of home

In the crispness of winter cold

Or the drone of cicadas in midsummer

Your presence for a moment tangible

Though ancient threads long lost to earth

Connected — I am home again.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte has dreamed of being a published author ever since she was a little girl. She lives on the Canadian prairies and writes poems and stories inspired by life's struggles, always with a hint of optimism.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.