Poets logo

Recoil

Verb: (/rəˈkoil/) rebound or spring back through force of impact or elasticity.

By SouluminosityPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Recoil
Photo by Vladimir Palyanov on Unsplash

Does it make you feel proud to hold my vulnerability like a bullet in the barrel of your throat?

Does it make you feel proud to shoot my words back at me, watch me wounded on the floor beneath your feet, a crushed flower longing for her soil, does it make you feel proud?

Does it make you feel angry knowing my sword hits parchment twice as hard as your bullets hit me, that all the pain you shoot at me ricochets with precision off the deceased birch and blooms into new life like a fallen Redwood?

Does it make you feel angry knowing that I deconstruct the words that you intended to make me self-destruct into a constructive work of art?

A literary legacy?

A table that never stops turning?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Souluminosity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.