Poets logo

Reckoning

A poem on the search for self after trauma

By Breanne RothPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've been haunting these halls for a while now

dancing with the shadows along the walls

Been sifting through the damage and debris

collecting the tokens, mementos of what used to be

I've been building tiny castles from my dreams and memories

but they dont feel like home to me

They aren't shining like they should be

and

they just don't speak to me

The ringing and the static

oh, that's just the post-traumatic

Searing and sounding in my head, it's deafening

This doesn't feel like home to me

and

it just won't speak to me

a god damn reckoning

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Breanne Roth

I’m a registered nurse from Texas. In this life, I’m a mom,a daughter, a friend, a lover, a teacher, a perpetual student...and sometimes, I’m just a shadow. Oh, but sometimes, I’m the light.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.