Poets logo

Receding Tides

Stay Alive

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Receding Tides
Photo by Nils Nedel on Unsplash

how does good go to bad/ how does amazing go to miserable/ how does happy go to sad/ in these trials of our lives/ everything can change in the blink of an eye/ whether it putting us at the top of the world/ or hanging us out to dry/ standing around waiting to die/ how do we step out of line and choose to decide/ decide how to get up after we fall/ and breaks these chains of depression/ that eventually shackle us all/

take my hand/ take my hand/ until this anger subsides/ take my hand/ take my hand/ let me be your guide/ until this pain becomes nothing more than receding tide

bravery can soon be overtaken/ suffocated by mass amounts of fear/ laughter will surely drown/ in the wake of all these tears/ i wish i could take your pain/ take it all away/ i wish i could wipe your eyes/ and tell you it will be alright/ i wish i could cut these chains that bind you/ and hold you through the night

take my hand/ take my hand/ until this anger subsides/ take my hand/ take my hand/ let me be your guide/ until this pain becomes nothing more than receding tide

everyone hurts/ everyone falls/ dont loosen your grip and succumb to it all/ eventually wounds heal/ scars become marks of the past/ pain is not forever/ pain does not last/ this pain is nothing more than a receeding tide/ you have to wait it out/ until this land becomes dry/ dont let this pain carry you out to sea

take my hand/ take my hand/ until this anger subsides/ take my hand/ take my hand/ let me be your guide/ until this pain becomes nothing more than receding tide

your bound to get wet but at least you wont die

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.