Poets logo

Reborn Sunshine

It's about time

By Ecarg NosivePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Oh to feel the way I felt 6 years ago

All from a girl whom I thought I let my feelings go

If this would have happened just 2 years ago

I wouldn't have believed you,

no,

and yes that means it took 4 years to get out of your hold

Or so,

I thought...

When you pulled up to my colorful old motel

The warm Savannah air felt like it disappeared

My breath was gone but you weren't for once

You were there, in front of me

in the flesh

No longer just hidden memories in my head

You looked the same but more mature

More ink in your skin

Our smiles, awkward..

but only for a few moments

then

it felt like we never left

6 years of lessons

harships

and life

Were no longer a thought in my mind

We laughed and laughed and hatched out why

it didn't work out last time

Our mental illness demons clashed, but after you,

I got help for that

You are still learning,

and I'm proud of you

but you're also still hurting

from your other muse

I'm glad she helped you know your flaws

Sad to hear it didn't help at all

But now you can be on your way

to a better you

that doesn't leave people

astray

I will not lie,

I've dreamt of this

but in my dream,

you already healed it

Played make believe of us trying again

I'm getting ahead of myself,

as I always did

Put a ring on your finger too fast

to take it off just like that

Impulsive decisions I wish I didn't have

Wish I let us season,

marinate

Maybe then we would have found a reason to stay

Is this a second chance?

Or am I just romantisizing it?

We giggled for hours, but not even our hands touched where we sat

Then I said

as you were about to leave

Drunken courage,

I had a question

Too nervous to say it,

I made you check your phone

I think you knew the terms of what it was

Your tone didn't sound like you'd say no

So I got my hopes up

per usual

and girl, am I glad I did

"Can I kiss you?"

You said yes

No hesitation

I grabbed your head

Our lips touched with meaning

familiar yet reborn

They didn't feel like leaving,

so they went in for more

I wish I knew how you were feeling though

Because while my spirits were up, I did remember something you said before

You were talking to someone new

You're still single

So how loyal to her are you?

I admit I pray you're faithless

Pray you put your faith in us

Amen

I can pretend

This will work out in the end

But I know,

You need to control yourself first

So you don't control your next partner's self worth

and i'll wait,

as I have all these years

to be that person

who wipes away your tears

Everything happens for a reason

and my dear,

coincidence is a tease...

Because how is it you're about to move back home

just as I come to visit our old one

and how is it that my favorite band

hasn't come out with an album since then

Songs that became theme songs of our love

well,

we are about to get more because

that band is about to tour

their first album in 6 years

I think the universe has made it clear

This was supposed to happen

It always was

As I sit on Tybee island's beach

I feel the sun

and nothing's grey

I mean,

I did say "please"

when I exclaimed

"don't take

my sunshine

away."

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.