Poets logo

Reasons Why I Enjoy Taking Care of Others

A Poem by Harley Pennington

By Harley PenningtonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Reasons Why I Enjoy Taking Care of Others
Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

I enjoy taking care of others,

because im able to put them ahead of me, focus

on their pain to forget my own; because im able to craft advice

that would finally be put to use

instead of rotting in my journal; because i bear

the power to heal the broken; because im

able to hold someone’s hand without them

looking both ways; because im able to check

for monsters under the bed without fear; because im unable

to juggle my own emotions; because im able to attend

to cleaning out junk and putting up new decorations; because im

able to pour into half full cups before my empty one.

Because i lack the capability of relying on my own care.

listsad poetrylove poemsexcerpts
2

About the Creator

Harley Pennington

Aspiring writer :)

Instagram: Harleyy.pennington

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.