Poets logo

Reality

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
7
Reality
Photo by Joel Filipe on Unsplash

My beliefs tell me I have free will

But reality tells me there’s a path

Before and behind

As I watch it unfold

It winds its way through the universe

Like a haunting curse

It chugga chugs

My flesh suit to the hearse

In a burst of creativity

I believe all ways created for me

To see

That which none of us was meant to see

The sea of misery

Disbelief

That time doesn’t exist

Unless there is a reality

For you and me

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakFilthyfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
7

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Exquisitely written and loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    I love a bit of onomatopoeia in poetry! 😊👏

  • marie e ehlenbach5 months ago

    I enjoyed your thoughts!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    nice

  • The sea of misery, that was so relatable. Such a poignant poem!

  • If only there were. My first thought is that, regardless the nature of the path lying both behind & before, it is always possible to blaze a different trail. My second thought is that, if it is possible to find a position beyond the fourth dimension of time, thus seeing all of the first four dimensions at once (part of my understanding of God as always residing beyond the furthest dimension we experience), what does that say about free will if it is possible to view all that ever is, was & will be simultaneously by anyone? Of course, part of greater dimensionality could include an infinity of parallel dimensions in which every possibility is actualized, allowing our decisions to be made freely as transferring us to any of a number of parallel closely associated dimensions to the one in which we reside currently, so there is that. And then you deliver your final three lines, in which I hear so much desire & hope as to pull me beyond all thoughts of interdimensionality, hopelessness & despair.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.