Poets logo

Real Talk S.E.L.F Episode 3 With Gina Hunt

Part 2 out 2 of the Banana Pudding series with RonAmber Deloney.

By B.E.A.T ProductionsPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Sylvia Gina Hunt (Left) With Ms. RonAmber Deloney (Right)

Link to Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00E4_eLs9Ns&t=866s

Hello, welcome to episode 3 of the R.E.A.L Self Talk with Sylvia Gina Hunt. This video took place in the year 2015 at one of these private TV studios located in the heart of NYC. In this episode, we are going to explore part 2 of the series called hot banana pudding with RonAmber Deloney, who is a well-known associate of Sylvia Gina Hunt for a very long time. Ms. Deloney's reason for being on this show is to share a particular group of poems. Furthermore, Ms. Deloney tells us the history of the name “Hot Banana Pudding” which is derived from a specific dessert that her both of her sisters make.

This is the first poem entitled in the future:

“Between the main block of jazz and Yung Joc, is a woman on the corner with a soul in a box. She's moving to the moon real soon, she says soon she says every afternoon in June is crazy she puts the tip of a spoon. Against the walls of a room her dreams of got tuned, she sings like this a riff got soul got boys got fists. I was arriving in the future love in my back pocket in the sun in my dreadlocks. Passport cocked between my two fingers tears is behind my eyeballs because the struggle in my living room still lingers with me. I stepped into the city after myself. The world is singing to me because I am all that's left over from my grandmother shoulder to my mama tears played across my living room I am that melodrama in the air to all of the calmer that found me with generations of excuses wrapped around me. I stepped soundly into the growth trying to drown in the fact that I have the act to do things profoundly. if I can humble my soul to mumble my ancestors around me and hold tight to the god that loves loud then bright yellow my rainbow. I was arriving in the future.”

That was the first poem that Ms. Deloney, wrote when she was living in Berlin, Germany for four years. During her tenure in Berlin, she got together with a group of amazing artists and decided to call themselves the New Night Babies and we're sort of a spoken word band and arriving in the future is the very first song that the group did as a collective. In the poem, Ms Deloney, talks a lot about traveling from Texas to Berlin and then shares another poem within the show called superstar and this is how it goes:

“I don't want to live vicariously through a superstar. I want to listen to Mi’Chelle and just vibe to my revolution with tracks 8 and 18 just singing in the background. Wherever I am on my way to a village in Africa or on a flight to a district in Austria or walking or riding the bus anywhere outside of my American dream. I don't want to live vicariously through a superstar and just settle things move around me. We astound me, see the box folding profoundly and moved to accommodate our blue state. Drowning the brown, politically I was found as a stranger in the corner of a closet beckoning those to come and service me while I contemplated the pose of female Moses the most deserving she of kin to me who got jiggy with a path. I heard calling me to just be free. I don't want to live vicariously through a superstar so I'm telling myself come out come out whoever you are.

I love the first love of my life from afar now bit too sweet. Oh philosophically now yah I don't want to live vicariously through a superstar because I got way too much flavor to be content on a new car purple converse with the one store. I got to learn to read beast between these lines because if your car's gonna find my fish trying to retwist number seven on the list of poets just give me the gift just give me the gift to uplift my fifth cuz if I son with the Sun staring into me like my brother hath no daring him to be that six min I got a quote that I wrote for hi-c don't let the system defeat you vicariously through that superstar because there an instrumental in my ear got sounds of creek beds trying to trap avoid call creek monster between high school hallways and the solace of his existence and the judge will sentence him to die before he forced those rocks decried against that lie the ones that shield his know-how from his no wife to be about his right now I don't want to live vicariously through a superstar .

I want to be a dope line on the back of somebody's t-shirt. I went a daydream about Rastafarian see the Indian style on european street corners singing natty dread for change at two o'clock in the morning so playing chorus on the pulse of morning what if the Sun live vicariously through the moon and you never felt the presence of the afternoon blues never set the Sun setting who's across your sky blue mood tell me then which superstar would be your food tell me then, which superstar would be your food.”

Furthermore, The host Sylvia Gina Hunt clapped for both poems and was congratulating Ms. Deloney for sharing these two poems. The two women were going back and forth explaining the significance of the poem “Superstar”, where Ms. Deloney spent some time in Vienna, Austria with different types of people whether they were homeless or wealthy. Besides Ms. Deloney’s Poetry, the two women talk about life in general and how Ms. Deloney got to be this amazing spoken word artist. To follow this conversation with RonAmber Deloney and the host Sylvia Gina Hunt, check out the video on our YouTube page.

artbook reviewshow toinspirationalperformance poetryslam poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

B.E.A.T Productions

B.E.A.T Productions is a upstart video production company that showcases its talent on Public Access TV and Online Video Platform Services Whether you are looking into different topics such as current events such as the news and sports.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.