Poets logo

Real or Fake We Must Live

Are you Real or Fake?

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I am My Real Self, I have the power to say no to hate

Fighting to save me, before it’s too late

When I am My Real Self, I am kinder to you

Struggling to eliminate cruelty, from a heart that is true

When I am My Real Self, my heart belongs to you

To you alone, I will be true

When I am My Real Self, my love for you is real

Strong as the truth, beautiful and ideal

When I am My Real Self, my soul is yours to keep

Whether I am awake, or in a deep sleep

When I am My Real Self, joy to you I bring

Happiness and pleasures, fit for a king

When I am My Real Self, my world is yours to own

Together we embrace, the future and the unknown

Sometimes we temporarily lose ourselves

In the trials and test of life

So that we can find the real value in us

Thus giving us a better reason

To find our Real Selves

When we are our Real Self, our lives are ours to live

Survive we must, because many of us have a lot to give

Genuine or A Fraud, ourselves we must save

But my life is mine, and I am real, not a fake!

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it and stay real!

Image and poem copyright by Annelise Lords

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.