Poets logo

Ready for Love?

June 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ready for Love?
Photo by yulia pantiukhina on Unsplash

I've finally raised my standards,

I refuse to settle again

I sat down and articulated the characteristics

that I'm looking for in men

I knew I wanted a healthy

two-sided relationship that's stable

But I had to look in the mirror

and question what I brought to the table

I've been listening to India.Arie and singing "Ready for Love"

so loud and for so many years, but maybe I'm a liar

Maybe I don't have enough to offer

to even deserve what I desire

I've got to become worthy

of the man I want to find

I need to be comfortable with myself

and heal my own heart and mind

love poems
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.