Poets logo

Reaction of a Memory

A poem based on true events

By Sara CooneyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

A sound enters. It's a squeek from a gate. My shoulder's arch up at this sound that I hate.

Gates not often opened tend to bar threats, and we came closer to violence with every step.

I was walking with Buddy, my pet and my friend, what came out to greet us was nearly his end.

A sight enters. It's an old wooden broom. My heart pounds fast and my head starts to swoon.

A man beat his dog as it shook mine in his teeth. I froze and I watched not even able to breath.

The man freed my Buddy and told me to go, he whined and I cried as the wounds came to flow.

A smell enters. It's blood and I cringe, as I remember the blood of my dog soaking in.

Holding tight in my arms, one step at a time, I carried him home hoping he wouldn't die.

It flowed down my shirt, down my white summer shorts.

Now, my body reacts because of memory's force.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sara Cooney

I received my Associates Degree of Fine Arts from Central New Mexico Community College in 2014.

I lived in Japan for 6 years as an English teacher where I explored my creative voice and developed into the person I am now.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.