Poets logo

Re-feeding Syndrome

and swollen ankles

By PoetryPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Re-feeding Syndrome
Photo by Otto Norin on Unsplash

swollen ankles exude shame

guilt

the sins of my lips printed on my belly

I bow my head 

a slave to frenzied callings of survival

my nemesis 

I lost life (sold in pint sized dishes with air)

in pockets filled with different secrets 

they rot the same 

the seams reek of the same pungent ashes of a little girl

who keeps dying like perennials and sunrises.

swollen ankles exude shame 

and inhale rage

once these ankles used to bleed 

but time sews tourniquets & sturdy cotton rags

that patch bullet holes

they leak

from duct-taped windows

deathly fumes cloned as perfume

my act, a dying whiff 

withering days

swollen ankles

exude shame.

I miss those legs of yesterday. 

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.