Poets logo

Rattle On It's Way

This is based on a day dream I had.

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Rattle On It's Way
Photo by B K on Unsplash

Rattling tracks beneath a carriage of a bygone era

a window gazing out upon the scene of fields and trees

while all the while coal smoke billows up into the air.

A whistle, loud and clear, blows out its turn to warn out the air

rolling up to yet another station with people waiting on the platform

so much baggage they all carry

from those picturesque red bricked builds

whistle again feeling the carriage rock every so slightly.

People pass by the compartment of which I sit

all but one, that is to say,

for the door soon opens

a gentleman with a soft smile upon his chiselled face

asks kindly if he may sit with me

within this almost unnoticed compartment for first class

I smile in return and nod my head, but return my gaze to the window.

He sits opposite me looking out across the passing views

a little whimper breaking the rattle of the tracks

as I look across to see him crying

dear sir, whatever can the matter be?

a gentle question, perhaps a little nosy for a stranger

but in this moment he seems alone

that he needs someone to talk to.

He tells me how his girlfriends abandoned him

breaking his heart once again

how his fallen for her beauty and not lacking intelligence that she has.

He seems so deeply hurt as he cries so unbecoming of a gentlemen

but still I sit and talk to him

I tell him of my little boy, who's deep asleep with his head on my lap

and why we travel by steam rather than the modern train

I'm not blind to know who this man is but pretend his no one

just a strange who no title of fame.

As the train continues its way along the tracks

I openly tell him of the man who haunts my dreams

he smiles a little timidly for he knows of who I speak of

for he is that man who haunts my dreams

he knows who I am and this chance meeting, is no chance at all

we continue talking as the train continues on

the midday sun turning to a dusky sunset, then to darkness of the night

but still we've hours left till we reach our final station.

We have realised we are heading to the same hotel

so why not go together?

For he is no strange at all to me

his haunted my dreams long enough

and this chance meeting his been secretly planning

now its happened and we are together.

This was so long ago, its a memory of pure joy

as I watch the charming gentleman that seems to have not aged

look across at me from his window seat smiling like he did that day

a glittering engagement ring adorns my hand

for you purposed to me when we reached that station

and every year since that day we make our pilgrimage to that hotel.

You smile has never aged and your eyes are as soft as they ever were

your dreaming voice still charms me in your own poetic harmony

while I sit opposite you absorbing every word you say

gazing out the window while the train continues to rattle on its way.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.