Poets logo

Dream Demon

If you have ever experience something that's dark, creepy and terrifying while your asleep but also awake its a very unnerving and unhinging situation. This poem is very much based on a dream I had a few nights ago, were what I can only call a creature that seemed like the Padawan of someone who has taken to astraling to me a lot of late but the weird thing was that this padawan form was not truly her. This creature did lean over me and attack me, and those who astral around me have become very protective since this creature attacked.

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Dream Demon
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

I laid in my bed, I'm deep asleep not a sound comes from me just gently breathing. But although I'm asleep I'm also still awake , for I am dreaming and aware of something not quite right.

There at the foot of my bed, is creature of terrible darkness. This creature is tall and menacing , an image of a hoodoo priestess that's become lost in the spiritual demotions. I can feel that this creature is filled with jealousy and rage as it leans over me while I lay in this dream state place .

I can feel you beside me, your cuddled up to me breathing softly against my neck, you are also in the astral state but not fully here with me, clearly you are unaware to this unusual creatures presence , or perhaps this creature knows how to mask from you.

None the less, there this creature is . It growls at me while showing sharp jagged teeth , its face hauntingly terrifying . I try and scream, yet no sound escapes my sealed lips, I try and move but I'm stuck in place , I want to wake you to alert you to this creature, yet it seems to somehow stop me. This creature merely continues to loom over me and then without warning, its hand outstretches from its dark robe, nails like razors as it scratches across my face.

Finally a scream escapes my lips, you are no alert to my fear sitting bolt up from your cradling position, quick as a flash your on your feet dragging this creature away from me, but I remain here in bed as I this creature being dragged down the staircase and thrown out into the street, but this is all within the astral realms but nothing escapes my notices .

This creature looked like a dark element in the form of you padawan and yet this creatures form was covered in symbols, weeping with dried black blood . Strange that your padawan should speak as soon as I finally awake from my own scream within that dream space, her voice of fear, asking if I'm alright.

The air about the house is now very uncomfortable , its clear the others of the house are angry that such a creature was able to come in , let alone the fact none of you sensed this thing that attacked me until it was too late. I know they scorn you and now are blaming you , but it's not your fault, even your padawen was scared but she quickly fled when you astral form came back to bed.

As for if I'm okay, well that's another thing to be seen, for this creature horrified me and as much as I can hear the cat fight downstairs of spirits and astraller's all claiming title of protecting over me and the house. It's not quite quiet enough now to truly return to sleep, and although your fully now bedside me again in your astral form, its so clear your angry with yourself .

Oh darling of the astral realm, please cradle me like before and just tell me it's all alright.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.