Poets logo

Raising The Stakes

Lowering The Bar

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 days ago Updated 10 days ago 1 min read
8
Raising The Stakes
Photo by Patricia Santos on Unsplash

The conflicting questions remain to be answered

A fantasy savored, swiftly changing its shape

And I, filled with doubt, being held up for ransom

a constant struggle searching for an escape

*

An unasked moment, masked, shrouded in secrets

Optimistically hoping to solve my mistakes

Passion raising the stakes of a imagined soft kiss

Diving into a long-desired embrace

*

I thought for a moment

and then, I thought better

Could I do without it?

Would it even matter?

*

So, I packed up my thoughts

in a vault with a combo

Threw back a couple of shots

on a beach down in Cabo

*

Cast it all to the wind

on the breeze I am breathing

Until real and pretend

share the exact same meaning

love poemshumorheartbreakFor Fun
8

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 days ago

    Omgggg, those last two lines! I freaking loved it!

  • Ameer Bibi10 days ago

    You beautifully captures the conflicting emotions of doubt and longing, wrapped in a humorous and relatable narrative. The imagery of packing up thoughts and casting them to the wind is both poignant and liberating.

  • Dana Crandell10 days ago

    Simply awesome.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.