Poets logo

Rainy Day in the Car

Why did it bring so much comfort?

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
108
Image from Pinterest

Heavy rain

Parked car

No umbrella

Dinner date cancelled

You looked at me

From behind the wheel

I smiled

Your worry dissipated

Like cotton candy in water

Silence ensued

Tranquil and serene

We watched the raindrops

Racing down the windshield

Our fingers intertwined

Conversation bloomed

From feathers

To oceans

We talked about everything

You, me, and us

Our future

All worries were rainwashed

It was us against the world

You, my Sun

I, your Moon

Our future, the Earth

Hours passed

Rain subsided

Jokes started

Playful tugs

Gentle punches

World-forgetting laughter

Rain stopped

We got out

Couldn't stop smiling

A rainy day in the car with you

Brought so much comfort

Why?

Because it was with you

And it will always be you

I wished for you

For the rest of my life
__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 🥰 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

inspirationallove poemsnature poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetry
108

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (87)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶22 days ago

    This is such a sweet, beautiful poem… ‘Silence ensued Tranquil and serene We watched the raindrops Racing down the windshield Our fingers intertwined Conversation bloomed’… The simple moments in life are often the best.🤩

  • It's beautiful! I love it!

  • Isabella Rose2 months ago

    I'm lucky enough to have someone that elicits these feelings for me. For the longest time, I thought that I couldn't fall in love, that I was too emotionally numb for that, but as it turns out, I just had to wait for an amazing Raven. You are such an amazing writer, My Morbid Friend.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    This is such a great piece, one of your classics in my opinion! I love the authenticity of it and relatability of it! Felt like a scene from a movie and was beautifully executed with your imagery! Great work D!

  • Lisa santos6 months ago

    This is so beautiful

  • Darkos7 months ago

    I love this 💞

  • ema7 months ago

    This is lovely and beautiful!

  • JBaz7 months ago

    Dharr, That was truly beautiful. I pictured the scene, smelled the rain felt the love. so good.

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    Oh this unlocked a memory I didn’t realize I had, I could feel this poem!! 🥹

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    The imagery gets me in this poem... it pulls me in and places me in the car! I love the way your descriptive language plays on my senses and just brings me this sense of peace, this sense of home. So beautifully written!

  • Steffany Ritchie8 months ago

    Loved this!

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Brings you right to the moments of serenity. Sitting in a car and talking while it is raining is so special ❤️ Love it

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Wow, this was magical! If there’s two things I love, it’s rain and moments of intimacy with another person. You combined them, and your use of language is superb here as always.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    This was beautiful Dharrsheena! I'm in love with your imagery and use of simile! My favourites were the cotton candy melting in water and the sun and moon reference! 💜

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    Wow beautiful poem! I wish for the same! 😀

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Another beautiful one. You have a gift! I really enjoyed this one, it felt very real.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Just love this so much

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Beautiful imagery, I loved this! So many powerful lines!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    I love this. It was such a beautiful adventure! I subscribed!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This was so amazing! So many lines I loved here. This is one: "Like cotton candy in water" and here is another "Conversation bloomed From feathers To oceans" Just GORGEOUS; a great poem, so many emotions!

  • Amy Writes2 years ago

    So sweet! You really captured love in this

  • Gideon 6ix2 years ago

    Wonderful- this made me reminisce on my experiences like this- thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.