Poets logo

Rain and Roses

Poetic Snapshots

By D. ALEXANDRA PORTERPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
15
Image Generated on NightCafe

Rain clouds rolling in

Dark billowing plumes

Think I will sit here

On the old wood steps

~~~

In the sycamore

Cardinals gather

Snuggling among leaves

Beaks preening feathers

~~~

Mr. Namon's roses look beautiful~ Silver drops beading on crimson petals

Image by Vecstock on FreePik

He lived with us a while before passing~ Alone before us, we became his home

~~~

Mother spotted me

On the old wood steps

Daughter getting drenched

Enjoying a flood

~~~

Like telepathy

I can hear her thoughts

Come in out the rain

My Strange WomanChild

~~~

For Mother who raised the Strange WomanChild~ I go inside with wet roses for her

Mr. Namon's roses look beautiful~ Silver drops beading on crimson petals

inspirationalnature poetry
15

About the Creator

D. ALEXANDRA PORTER

Force of Nature

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler2 months ago

    My dear, dear D. I am just checking on you to see if you have a health update. I am still kicking, just not as high, but kicking nonetheless. I'm praying for good news from you and think of you often.

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    I love the beautiful mood that you set in this piece! gorgeous work my friend!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler6 months ago

    Oh, D. this is haunting and beautiful and I have been so busy at work I have missed your beautiful writing. I am always going to stop and see what you have posted!

  • S. A. Crawford7 months ago

    Gorgeous; the imagery, the layered meanings - I can almost smell the rain and roses. I can feel the love rolling from each line, and honestly I got a little emotional. I've subscribed to you and I can't wait to see what you write next!

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Well, that was beautiful. I read it twice and could feel the pleasantries even more. Annnnd I'm jealous of that porch in the title pic. Who wouldn't love to wake up to that every morning. You have endless tricks in that magic word hat of yours. Great work, D! 💖

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Oh! I fell so much nostalgia reading about Mr Namon, so glad he was found before leaving, and happy he enjoyed his roses. This is such a wonderful poem, like glimpsing shadows from far down the ages. Now I sit staring into the distant past, mothers all calling our names. This was lovely.

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    This is stunning. The poem as well as the title and image, it all ties together so perfectly!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Very intense! Fantastic work!

  • This was so vivid, beautiful, poignant and emotional! You did such a wonderful job with this poem!

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    So beautiful!

  • Darkos7 months ago

    Beautiful and touching! ❤️

  • Luther7 months ago

    Nice writing ❤️ I think I really need to work on mine

  • Test7 months ago

    Elegant, intimate... a beautifully captured moment in poetry that gives such a feeling of an underlying story. Superb, D!!!!! 💙Anneliese

  • Beautiful! I love it!

  • AL. K.7 months ago

    Very beautiful poem!

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Really enjoyed this - had a lovely and gentle flow to it! Well done, D!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.