Poets logo

R. E. M

A Surreal retelling of a dream I once had

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

The devil is coming,

I fear it’s scent all around my body.

He has weighing scales attached to his skin,

Debating if women or men should be sent falling down.

We all pretend in the dead of night,

Sleeping silently on the ground below.

I hear the red horned man stomping,

It’s piercing tongue flickering like a serpent.

It’s hoofed toes crunching into the mud where I sleep.

I clench my eyeballs tightly, my stomach tied like rope,

I beg not to be chosen, feeling my heart ready to explode.

We all rest like zombies even gangrene starts to grow upon my flesh.

For if we are all dead already, then Satan has no real use for our human sacks.

Were dragged by our ears into a portal of light,

An escape from the taunting,

However unnerving and unstable the other side may appear.

A flash of brightness all I can see are neon lights,

Perhaps I have been inserted in a game level of my own design?

I look upon a arcade game level before me with exhibits of plastic dinosaurs,

I feel my mind crumble like the ancient walls of a castle.

My brain is very much conflicted passing through many dimensions of fiction,

But there’s only one way forward not to catch up with the red devil lord.

It seems that in this game of life I only have two chances,

When I look at my skin again I am changed.

A cavewoman stood staring, glaring up at me,

A reflection of my former self,

I find myself being chased by other cave dwelling people,

We’re now fighting to survive…

Rapid blinking, brain begins to scurry to survive,

I wake inside the land of the living,

disturbed, confused and truly fascinated all blended together in my mind of chaotic mess.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.